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• There have been 183 Caltrans workers killed on the job since 1921.  
 
• On April 24, 2013, two Caltrans maintenance employees lost their lives at a massive rockslide 

along State Route 96 in Siskiyou County. They were specialized rock scalers who died while 
working to prevent rocks from falling onto motorists. 

 
o Shawn Baker of Weed, 50, is survived by his wife and four children. 

o Joseph "Robert" Jones of Montague, 40, left behind his wife and three children. 

o A third rock scaler, Kevin Skillen, was severely injured.  

 
• The deaths of Shawn Baker and Robert Jones ended a two-year stretch when Caltrans had 

not had a maintenance employee fatality on the job. 
 

• Another Caltrans worker, Dean Patton, was fatally hit by a motorist while on his way to the 
2013 statewide Worker Memorial. 

 
• In addition to law enforcement and California Highway Officers, contracted highway workers 

are also at risk.  
 

• On average 1,000 Caltrans vehicles are struck each year. 
 

• Highway construction is one of the most dangerous occupations in the United States. The risk 
of death is seven times higher for highway workers than for an average worker, according to a 
study by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration/U.S. Department of Labor. 

 
• In addition to the danger to workers, an estimated 85 to 90 percent of people who are killed in 

highway work zones are drivers and passengers. 
 

o Latest data shows that speeding was a factor in more than 35 percent of all fatal 
work zone crashes. 

 



 

 

• Most work zone fatalities are caused by rear-end collisions. Driver distraction, inattention and 
aggressive driving are most often the cause. 

 
• Caltrans’ “Slow for the Cone Zone” public awareness campaign asks motorists to be alert and 

slow down, allow extra following room, expect sudden stops, never drive impaired, and avoid 
distractions, including cell phones in highway work zones.  

 
• In 2013, Caltrans installed 100 permanent Move Over signs throughout California to promote 

the Move Over law, which requires drivers to move over a lane if safe to do so, or slow down, 
when passing vehicles with flashing amber lights. 
 

• This week Caltrans is kicking off a public safety awareness campaign, which will be posted on 
billboards along the highways, to educate and encourage drivers to Slow for the Cone Zone 
and move over for emergency vehicles. 

 
• Fines are doubled in highway work zones and can easily total $1,000 or more for drivers who 

speed, drive aggressively, text or are otherwise distracted, or cause collisions in a highway 
work zone. 

 


